Victims Code of Rights

The Victims Code of Rights (the Code) sets out how people can expect to be treated when they’re a victim of crime in Aotearoa New Zealand.

The Code sets out the principles and entitlements in the Victims’ Rights Act 2002. It’s a powerful statement of the obligations of the State and allows it to pursue justice on behalf of victims of crime in Aotearoa.

The Code also states that organisations providing services to victims must make it easy for victims to give feedback or make a complaint.

The Code was approved by the Minister of Justice and published in September 2015.

The Code divides victims’ rights into two broad categories:

  • Victims' rights
  • Principles guiding the treatment of victims.

Victims' rights

There are 11 victims' rights set out in the Victims Code. These rights relate to particular events or processes in the criminal justice system. Victims or their representatives have a right to complain if they recognise the agencies responsible have not delivered on these rights.

Read the Victims Code on the Victims Information website(external link)

Victims have the right to complain to providers or the Independent Police Conduct Authority (IPCA), the Ombudsman and/or the Privacy Commissioner if they feel they have not been given any of the 11 rights in the Code. Certain government agencies are also required to report to parliament in their annual reports about the complaints they have received under the Code.

Find out more about complaints(external link)

Principles guiding treatment of victims

There are 8 principles that guide the way government agencies and other organisations that provide services should treat all victims.

Principles guiding treatment of victims

This page was last updated: